Tutorial – Manga Writing : 03

Hey its been a long time since I posted a tutorial, so here it is.

First of all I want to apologize for my previous tutorial (Tutorial – Manga Writing : 01) the part where I talked about 3 Act structure I found out its bullshit :P, but I wont delete it because it shows my inexperience which is important coz you wont become Geroge R.R. Martin or Paulo Coelhoย  or Eiichiro Oda or Tsugumi ohba the first time you write a script.

“You learn to draw by drawing and learn to write by writing.”

Reading or watching tutorials wont take you far. Reading books helps a lot though, read anything you can get your hands on good or bad, old or new, fiction or history or romance or anything else, if its bad figure out why its bad and how can you make it better or if its good try to notice what makes it a good read.

So putting all that 3act structure crap aside lets start fresh.

Now a story can have as many acts as you want 3, 15, 22, 50, 100 or 100+ but speaking specifically for manga which publishes 22 pages weekly or biweekly or monthly the last page should end in a way that readers cannot wait to read the next chapter thats where a act structure will come in place, in the beginning of the chapter you start building a situation and as you get to the end, your story should reach almost to its peak (emphasis on the word almost), you leave your readers involved and hanging (remember this will only work with a serialized manga with multiple chapter, one shots have a different approach)

I am reminding you again forget about the 3act structure if you want to make a complex story, it will kill your script.

Q> Why is the 3 act structure that I talked about in previous tutorial so bad?

A> I am working on a story which is extremely complex, its 14-17 times more complex than one piece. While creating it and read some good books I realized that none of them had a 3 act structure if these stories were limited to a 3act structure one piece, naruto or bleach would end in lest than 10 chapters, avatar would be a 12 minute short film, harry potter or A Song of ice and fire or The alchemist would be a 100 pages short novels. 3 act focuses on just one character this wont work in any story with multiple protagonists like one piece, naruto, bleach, harry potter, game of thrones etc. and their are so many more draw backs to it. Read this to learn why 3Act structure is bad – http://www.raindance.org/why-3-act-will-kill-your-writing/

Creating a story is not an easy task you may think it is coz all you come up with is a concept which is quite easy to come up with but developing it into 100-600 chapters in a progressive way by which your readers feel involved and connected is the hard part. A story has so many components concept, plot, character profiles, environment, setting, back story, hints of future, etc. Don’t feel down no writer before or after you got or will get it right in their first try even the one with a born talent. I myself am struggling though it but as I said earlier we can only learn to write by writing. Have some people proof read it for you of different age groups and non professionals, this will help you know what readers like and don’t like.

I dont know how much this helps, but I am happy I posted it.

One more this the reason I might not post things anytime soon is I have graduated from college and working at a very low paying job as it is the only thing I can get my hands on and other times I draw, paint, read and write. I will post but not anytime soon.

5 thoughts on “Tutorial – Manga Writing : 03

  1. Hi there, I just found your blog and just would like to know how’s things going for you? ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think we are a lot alike in term of our situations. I love manga and drawing a lot (ever since I was a tiny girl) that’s why i decided that I would become a mangaka a few months ago. But my parents are expecting me to take over their company after i graduate from university also. I have not told them of my decisions yet, but the chance of their approval are very low.
    I guess because of that, i love your blog. Even though i am just an accidental guest, I just want to say you have my support. I hope we can be friends and can meet each other some days.

    1. Hi, thanks you for taking the time out and reading the blog. As for how’s things going for me, well they are going OK. I will never take the family business not matter what. Currently I work as a UI Designer in a MNC (multinational company) which I guess is both good and bad, good coz I make good money and I can buy all the art books and tools even the expensive ones which were impossible before, bad because this place doesn’t have a good design culture and I have to spend 5 days at work which I can spend drawing or writing or painting or anything else that I love to do. But I am focused right now on this because I just want to save enough so that I can be financially independent and I can move to rural France or Japan (havnt decided yet), Then I can probably do all that i love.

      I dont know if living a lie now is better or not, in my case the design job and financial independent thing. Life is simple you make decisions and you never look back. As for your situation I wont give to any advice, no matter what decision you take you will have to stick by it. And you have to focused, its not like you can wake up one day and say you will be focused today it doesnt work like that, it is like you are working on one thing one day and you wake up the next day and have this new awesome idea and every bone in you body tells you that this new idea is better but you wont work on it until you have finished the old work at hand, that’s being focused.

      There are no accidents, thanks for your support. Yes we can be friends, I would love that and if I stay alive we will meet some day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hello! I like your blog very much and I have started reading it just today. Well, when I read your blog I found out we were lot similar(though not that similiar, since my parents don’t mind that much of me becoming a mangaka). But your blog sure is inspiring. I started reading manga when I was 13, and now I am going to participate in silent manga audition summer and I am actually trying hard to bag the first prize. Well my question was from where you buy manga equipments like pens and nibs? I wanted to buy some but since I am not that rich and my parents won’t allow me to use credit card, I am using cash on delivery method. And oh yes, good luck for your dreams and never give up!

    1. Hey, thanks for the kind words. As for your question I buy equipment from many number of places like amazon IN, amazon COM, flipkart, snapdeal or sometimes just wander in art stores ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Well… It makes me happy that I found you ๐Ÿ˜€ A dedicated Indian mangaka.. Good luck to you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Your posts are encouraging as well as informatic. keep it up ๐Ÿ™‚ I will see your work for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

